APA Student Returns to Work With Art Students

Alumni Spotlight

Sara Fallin, NC State Fashion Design student,  returns to APA to work with art students

In her own words…

I met with a group of students in the fine arts department who were interested in creating their own tracksuit and wanted to learn about the process that goes into saraFallincreating a garment. I basically gave them an overview of the entire process and introduced them to the various areas/different paths of apparel development. I brought in different items and examples from my projects to allow them to visualize everything that goes into developing a piece from idea to final garment. I briefly went over each step which included concept creation, different seam/stitch types, pattern making, cutting, basic sewing terminology, prototypes and the final pieces that I had made for my senior collection. I also brought in textile fabrics that I had designed on different computer software programs (mainly Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop) that I had printed onto fabric to introduce them to textile design. When most people think of fashion design they mostly think about the sewing stage, which actually is one of the smaller stages in development- so my main goal was to show them all of the stages and different possibilities in fashion design because it’s something I wish I had been introduced to before I had gone to college. The students were awesome-they had really neat ideas and showed a lot of interest!

saraFallin2

Sara will graduate in Spring, 2018 from NC State with a   degree in Fashion and Textile Management.  She graduated from Parrott in 2013.  We appreciate her visit to campus to work with our students!

 

Leave a comment